Pressed on every side

2 Corinthians 4:8
“When I am pressed on every side by troubles, I’m not crushed and broken.
When I am perplexed because I don’t know why things happen as they do,
I don’t give up and quit.”

In this world there are trials and tribulations that we do not understand.
It touches all of us at different times in our lives.
And how we react to it is how we’ll come out of it.

For me, it lasted 5 years and it felt like eternity.

I was a senior level manager with 20 accounts under my supervision. I used to have hundreds of projects to oversee. One by one they started cutting back projects for one reason or another. The quality of our work did not change. All of us in my group, we still strived to do the best work; the client cutback had nothing to do with our quality.

For example, one time I was called into a client’s office who had already prepaid half of the contract fee. We were in the middle of working on the project. This was one of my best clients, one who loved our work. He told me he wanted to put the project on hold and he wanted the money back he had already paid.

Another time, a client had hired an assistant who was supposed to work with us but then she decided to bring in another firm she had worked with previously. Just like that I lost the account even though they used to love us.

The worst one was the collection issues. Two clients refused to compensate us for our work. After we finished the job, after it was a great success, they did not pay. It was a lot of money. I was let go because of this even though it was not my fault.

That is a snapshot of what happened at work. I’d like to describe it as “the brook dried up”. In hindsight, it was so obvious that God had already finished with me there and He wanted me doing something else… the three little words – “design for God”. For five years I was constantly struggling with issue after issue at work.

Then, amidst all of these things, the heat was turned up one more notch.
As if the troubles at work were not enough, my health started to act up. The most astounding of this part of my life is that I’ve been known to never, ever get sick for as long as I can remember. I was always strong and healthy. This one put me on red alert. You’ll see why in my next post.

I was pressed on every side but I’m glad He did not let me quit.
2 Cor 4:16-17 reminds me often that our affliction is light and momentary. The result is that it is ever more and more abundantly preparing and producing and achieving for us an everlasting weight of glory.

It is so hard to see it that way while we’re in the midst of the suffering, but God has a divine purpose for our difficulties. For me, it altered the course of my life for good. Now I want nothing but to be obedient to Him and to follow the path He has for me.

Thank you for reading and thank you for visiting http://designforgod.com.
Blessings to all.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

